A Weekend in Pictures

It was a beautiful May weekend in the city of Brooklyn and on the isle of Manhattan and I found myself wandering the streets, riding my bike and venturing below ground on the subway.

Saturday

opinions and pleasures

Riding my bike to the West Village on Saturday Night, I saw this “Happy” truck  way in front of me on Bowery and finally caught up to it on 6th Ave!

Pleasure = happiness, love. Forever

When photographing in the Village, I usually head to RF Lounge for a bathroom break and sometimes a beer.

In this body I will live, in this body I will die....

Johnny got a new tattoo!

Young man is victim of hit and run accident. Corner of Christopher Street & the West Side Highway

You never know what you will see on the Piers. This man was doing some kind of martial arts routine.

Sunday AM came way too early after a late night photographing on Christopher Street. I TA the 10:30 am  Teen Academy Photo II “photographing civil rights” class at ICP.

my oh my it's bright up there.

After class I headed to The Center to the monthly meeting on AVERNY (American Veterans for Equal Rights, NY) where Lt. Dan Choi was being awarded.

I am Somebody

Cover of Time Magazine -September 8,1975

Here is the link to the issue  “Gays on the March” http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,917784,00.html

When I stepped outside The Center I turned and saw this exciting Exhibit Poster! First I got excited when I saw my images on the poster, then I looked above… Catherine Opie and Larry Clark! Who knew…I didn’t. I wonder if they will be at the Opening!??!!!!

Exhibit Opening June 3rd 6-7:30pm

Next stop, our house was just about out of coffee beans I head to The Roasting Plant on 7th Ave, but before I get there, sad sad St.Vincent’s.

"We are deeply saddened that we were unable to come up with a viable plan to save the inpatient services at the hospital that has proudly served Manhattan's West Side and Downtown for 160 years."

Before heading home, I made a pit stop in Dumbo, to check out the final day of The New York Photo Festival.

York Street

Sunday 6:00pm

Walking around Bed Stuy with Iso and some take out Thai.

About Jo Ann Santangelo

Austin based freelance multimedia documentary photographer and storyteller.
This entry was posted in Bed Stuy, brooklyn, Christopher Street, manhattan, portraits, street, subway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

