LA to Utah in Pictures (Days 15-20)

Day 15- After staying in San Diego for almost three days, it was time to get back on the road and head to Los Angeles! I left San Diego at 4:30 am and made way to the L.A Headquarters to visit with  (#24) Veteran and L.A. Police Officer Jules Sohn.  From there I went and had coffee in Hollywood with a fellow ICP’er now living in Santa Monica, Phil Brown.  After Phil, I headed over to Kate O’Donnell’s (#25) apartment in West Hollywood. Now its time to drive up the Hollywood Hills to visit with an old old friend Shannon Kiely at her home and then she took me to lunch at this cool, Mexican Restaurant, where I was told “this is the place Jennifer Aniston said her and Brad fell in love…” It was very 1970’s Hollywood Chic and delicious. After catching up, hanging out and swimming in Shannon’s pool/hot tub, I headed to downtown L.A to visit with Veteran (#26) Alaistar Gamble.  10pm and time to eat some dinner and call it a night.

Day 16- Early morning drive to Monterey, wow, what a drive up the Pacific coast highway for a brief visit with Veteran Jason Knight (#27). After Jason, I headed to University of Santa Cruz (I’m in love, love love with Santa Cruz,  if  I wasn’t already in love with Austin, this would be another option of a place to live) – I hung out at the public radio station with Veteran Kai Azada (#28) and then onto see Veteran Jeffery Correa (#29), who I had met in D.C. at the SU Lobby Day in May.  Now, no rest yet…still gotta drive north to San Francisco where I at some sushi in the Castro then I crashed.

Day 17- I woke up and headed to a local cafe in the Mission, then headed over to visit with Veteran Jay Dwyer (#30). After I had a FREE to day to just walk around and explore San Francisco and finally make my way to hang out with Commander Tony of the Alexander Hamilton Post 448 (the only gay veteran post recognized by The American Legion)

Day 18- Started with a morning coffee visit with World War II Veteran Robert Potter (#31) then a drive north to Santa Rosa to visit with Veteran Keith Herr (#32).  From there I headed to Sacramento to see Andrew Holmes (#33). After Andrew I drove a few hours to spend the night in Reno, NV

Day 19- Early morning drive to a suburb of Salt Lake City, Utah for an afternnon visit with Veteran Jackie Ruffner (J.A. Steel) (#34). Then onto Salt Lake to spend the night with Veteran and friend Jeff Key (#35)

Day 20- Hung out with Jeff for the morning and headed south pass Zion National Park, Red Rock Country, St. George, UT to visit with Veteran Mark Setser (#36). After hanging out with Mark, it was time to make my way northeast to Colorado, I spent the night in Green River, CO!

Stay Tuned for Pictured from Days 21-23 (Colorado to Kansas)

Save the Date: Proud to Serve, multimedia portrait exhibit  at the LGBT Center in Manhattan, opening on Veteran’s Day, November 11th, 2010 http://gaycenter.org/

About Jo Ann Santangelo

Austin based freelance multimedia documentary photographer and storyteller.
This entry was posted in phone images, portraits, proud to serve, street and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

