So you say you wanna ride 20 miles

Yesterday, when I hopped on Lynda (my bike) I said to myself “I’d love to ride 20 miles today”. Well, as the clique goes, be careful what you wish/ask for. I headed towards my old favorite route on Exposition Rd. Ten miles later I arrived on the dried up banks of Lake Austin.  After standing on the docks just before sunset, smelling and wondering where all the water went, Kenneth appeared and filled me in. He says that every 5 years, they dam up the area to kill the Hydrilla, which I found out,  is an invasive plant that gets caught in boat motors, etc. I was glad to hear the lake was purposely dried and it wasn’t because of a drought, knowing that,  I sat on the edge and soaked in the beauty. That is when I got the call “I’m stuck, what? I broke the car, it won’t start, I need you to come get me. I’m at the Walmart on 183/Cameron Rd.” “Ok, baby, hang tight, I’m clear across Austin, let me figure out, my route.” Bye bye Lake Austin, see you soon. I biked under Mopac, through downtown Austin to Red River, where I headed north and under I35, over and then under Highway 290 until 12 miles and an hour  later I reached my grateful Kay sitting in the car in the parking lot of Walmart. My reward, after dropping of Lynda, Kay took us to dinner (goat and pastor fried quesadillas) at our new favorite Mexican Restaurant, Taco More!

Yesterday, biking total = 22 miles. I’m training for the Hill Country Ride for AIDS Stay tuned for donation requests!

About Jo Ann Santangelo

Austin based freelance multimedia documentary photographer and storyteller.
This entry was posted in austin, phone images, street and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

