forgotten and found memories in color

From August 2008 to December 2010, Kay and I lived in Brooklyn, NY. During that time, I was a student at the International Center of Photography. At the start of school in September 08, we were given a bunch of rolls of color film. Being a “black and white” photographer, I would occasionally pull a roll out of the fridge and pop it into my camera. Slowly all the color rolls got shot and placed in a box with my b/w film rolling supplies. For many reasons, I didn’t get them processed. The main issue was financial, we were just getting by,  I couldn’t reason spending the $80 to process them.  After we moved back here to Austin, I pulled out the 6 six rolls with slight memories of what was on them. Finally last week, I dropped them off. The wondering, the waiting would soon be over.

When I picked them up on Monday, what a treat, what a rush of memories. Memories of an intense, amazing, emotional time. All the images were shot during my time as a student at ICP.

This first set is of our neighbors: shot on a plastic camera Chance (second row) gave me that day, R.I.P Earl (right).

Travels around Brooklyn: Shot with Nikon F100

Most days, I biked from our home in Bed Stuy to ICP in Manhattan,  In between I  had to pass through Williamsburg and the Hasidic Jewish section of neighborhood.

These images were shot (Sept ’08) during a Kaparot ceremony on Lee Ave in Williamsburg

I am such a lucky lady in so many ways, during the 10 months at ICP, we were given tons of assignments that required a model, I had a live-in: Kay stood, naked in the shower with only rain boots on, posed outside in front of our brownstone on a cold winter’s morning waiting for me to figure out my 4 x 5 camera, brushed and re-brushed her teeth for my first attempt at multimedia,  just to name a few.

I originally, shot the “Apple in Times Square” when I visited NYC in 1998. I carried an apple around with me all that day, when we got back to our hotel, there was a break in traffic, I placed the apple on the street, lied down and photographed it. The image was on my first business card.  Fast forward ten years later, In the fall of 2008, after an intense weekend workshop, I took out a Leica from the ICP “cage”,  with a roll of color film and and an apple in my bag, I walked the two blocks to Times Square.

That night, Kay and I headed back to the city, of course, I had the bright idea of placing the apple on her.

I love that lady, Thank you for your patience and for being in my life.

Before I started shooting on Christopher Street, I was hanging out at Sylvia’s Place (homeless shelter for LGBT youth). These were taken in the spring 09 when funding for the shelter was being in talks of being cut.

We live in a time of instant gratification, for whatever reason these images had to wait patiently to be “seen”, I’m happy to finally see and share them.

I guess I wasn’t the only one taking photos that day. Jim, thanks for emailing me this.

Thank you for looking.

About Jo Ann Santangelo

Austin based freelance multimedia documentary photographer and storyteller.
This entry was posted in Bed Stuy, brooklyn, manhattan, portraits, street and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to forgotten and found memories in color

  1. Zed says:

    I love your blog, glad that I have found it! You have inspired me to take more pix!
    http://justnotliketheothers – a South African lesbians view on the world
    http://thebholder.blogspot.com, some of my pix

    Have a wonderful day. Good luck with your book. 🙂

  2. Zed,
    Thank you for your kind and thoughtful words. just checked out both your blogs. Thank you for your honesty, i really enjoyed both your words and your imagery

Leave a Reply

