Fallen behind on the recap

It’s hard to re-visit the past when you barely have time in your present life. It all sounded so simple in my hectic head. I thought, it will be great, if only for myself to go back and think about where I was in the country, who I was visiting with, meeting, listening, photographing during those 28 days last year. I had every intention to write a post at least every other day of my 28 day road trip.

But, this last week, I have not been able to find the time.

Today would be Day 21 of the trip, I’d be in St. George, UT visiting with Mark Setser.

At the moment I am producing the final multimedia piece for Proud to Serve and I’m currently in high speed production with my new project and also then working 4-5 nights a week at my paying job, so my past had to take a back seat to my present.

I will post a final recap post featuring a newly  produced multimedia piece on the September 20, 2011, celebrating the day, gay and lesbian service members will be allowed to serve openly in the military.

Own a piece of history and support my work and help spread the stories of the brave men and women.

Purchase your copy of Proud to Serve, a photography zine

Click here to buy a copy

For my new project, I am currently photographing, recording audio and dare I say  it shooting video.

The project is called Austin Faces AIDS:  It is 18-25 (still in production) portraits, audio and video of men and women in Central Texas that are living with HIV/AIDS.  This multimedia photography project will examine what it means to live with HIV and AIDS in Austin in 2011.

The project will culminate in an multimedia exhibition on World AIDS Day (December 1st, 2011), an artist talk event.  Stay Tuned for details!

About Jo Ann Santangelo

Austin based freelance multimedia documentary photographer and storyteller.
This entry was posted in austin, portraits, proud to serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

