Scanning and Developing Roulette: A Procrastinating Game

So, I am a procrastinator who photographs a lot. shooting daily for myself on sometimes up three cameras (dslr, iphone, 35mm film).  I can fall way behind in processing, archiving and editing.  Luckily for me, I am highly organized in my archiving and I do upload the digital files on a regular basis. It’s the black and white analog film situation that I am way behind in, like a year backed up. In not only scanning the film, but also processing and developing. the rolls.  I have bags of undeveloped film, dating back to Kay and I’s two week west coast road trip last June 2011, OY! The fun part, so says my brain, is when I do get my butt in the dark room to develop, I am always surprised on what I pull out of the tanks. The last batch of processed rolls included a few current day to last year Austin rolls to the Redwood Forest, a lot of  shots I totally forgot  snapping, until the minute I lay them on the light table.

I am still back logged, I can’t stop shooting, yesterday after about two weeks of not shooting any film ( I was out and was trying to not add to my load), with a fresh 200 ft of film in the house, I rolled a canister, biked and photographed on two cameras. These are the iphone images. The 35mm roll is still in my camera, got about half more to shoot, then well, it’ll go in the mix.

Today, it a  well needed rainy Tuesday in Austin, the perfect day to sit home and scan some of those random rolls. All the following black and white images were shot on my Nikon F100 over the last year and scanned today, the color images are the matching ones taken with my iPhone.

Image

Fort Clark and Krispy Kreme- Shot 03.08.12 during a walk around south Austin while “Gina” got an oil change at South Point KIA (I35 and Stassney)

iPhone

Image

Image

Image

Image

Same spot/street corner photographed in 2008 (click here).

Image

Parking lot Gibson and South Congress, Austin, TX

Image

Congress Ave and Annie or Mary, Austin, TX between Jan-March 2012

Image

2100 and Guadalupe 3.28.10 at 1:28pm

Image

iphone 4 #instagram

Image

walking around West Campus – March 28 2012 around 2:00pm

I moonlight as a server at Perla’s Seafood and Oyster bar, one of the “perks” of the working in the service industry is the food and wine knowledge acquired through “tasting”. Lee Ann holds monthly wine classes at our sister restaurant Lambert’s for all employees. Each month, she focuses on a region. February’s class was Champagne, France. As a bonus, Lee Ann invited her friend, June Rodil, Beverage Director and Sommelier for Congress Austin to demostrate “How to saber a bottle”

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

iphone, Perla's champagne tasting, Lambert's Austin, TX 3.28.12

More random shots on a roll shot around Austin in February 2012.

Image

South Congress, Austin, TXImage

Image

Walking Iso around our old hood, Emerald Forest and Aberdeen Dr.

About Jo Ann Santangelo

Austin based freelance multimedia documentary photographer and storyteller.
This entry was posted in austin, daily life, phone images, street and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

