Falling into the news

Fall is by far my favorite season, usually it’s just the cooler temperatures making for more pleasant bike riding that puts Autumn on the top of my list.  This fall I have been blessed both professionally and personally.

September started of with a bang, I was profiled in the September/October issue of  L Style G Style magazine!

There wasn’t much time to sit and read articles, Kay and I were in full wedding mode, we had a beautiful ceremony surrounded by friends and family here in Austin on September 22nd. We actually got legally married (the paperwork) in New York City this past June.

October took us to Costa Rica for our honeymoon, where we spent 5 days in a tree house in the rainforest on a property that had 8 thermal hot spring pools! It was pure peace and magical.

After a being completely unplugged for a week in Costa Rica, one of the first emails I saw was from Edible Austin informing me that one of my images for Kate’s Hip Girl’s Guide to Homemaking column was going to be the cover image for the upcoming Cooks! Issue.

I was asked to shoot a portrait of my favorite subject, my talented wife Kate for this month’s issue of Austin Woman Magazine.

That’s all the news I have in the print world, let’s talk about brick and mortar and exhibits.

I am proud to mention that Proud to Serve is currently being exhibited in both California and Arizona!  It is on display at the San Francisco LGBT Community Center (1800 Market Street) thru November 30th.

Twenty portraits from PTS are on display in “End of War” a group show at The Northlight Gallery at Arizona State University in Tempe, AZ thru December 1st.  If you are in either city be sure to stop by and check out the exhibits, and please snap a few photos and instagram (@josanphoto) them my way.

Some of you may remember that I turned a 40 foot industrial storage container into a gallery space, I dubbed “Falcon 5” last December for Austin Faces AIDS exhibit.

Well, I’ve decided to do get Falcon 5 delivered again!  She is now living along side Red Rider Studios  located on the east side  at 7 Gunter Street (7th and Springdale) and will be my permanent portrait studio and gallery space.  Curious? Be sure to stop by during E.A.S.T. for a sneak peek.

Stay tuned for more details on Falcon 5.

About Jo Ann Santangelo

Austin based freelance multimedia documentary photographer and storyteller.
This entry was posted in austin, daily life, portraits, proud to serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

