do you prefer the black and white, the color or instagram

Thanksgiving down

Thanksgiving down

The other day I was editing and scanning the analog images shot during my bike ride on Thanksgiving afternoon.

It got me thinking: back to when I started Austin Seen (06-08), it was only a few years ago, then I was only armed with my Nikon and usually had to choose between three frames on a contact sheet when selecting/editing down to a final image.  Now, for Austin Seen, in progress, I have more then three frames, I usually have three versions of any given image.

As I sat and starred at my computer screen and looked at all three versions (Nikon, iPhone 4s and instagram), I asked myself which do you prefer?

I naturally gravitate to the black and white analog  images.   I feel more connected to the film version.

But why?

Is it because, I initially saw the image in black and white, stopped and made the picture?

My brain says, you had to work more for that black and white image.

True, I rolled the film it was shot on, spent hours in the dark room, developing,  more hours scanning, dusting, resizing the negatives, creating digital versions and finally uploading versus the iphone/instagram images took only mere minutes from click to adding a filter to upload.

Does more time in post production equal a better image?

I want to say no.

This is why photographers are taught/told, that you should seek opinions and advice of other photographers and non-photographer friends and family when editing because they are not connected to the experience of making the image. All they see is the final image and that is all anyone else who looks at your work will see.

I ask you, which do you prefer, why?

In my presentation of the project, (i.e website, exhibit, blog), do you like seeing the final image in both black and white and color or should I choose?

These two sets of portraits of Edward, Maria and Junior  were taken within minutes of each other during the end of my Thanksgiving day bike ride from my home. I rode east on 12th Street, starting just west of Airport to I35 and returned west on E.11 Street.   I shot 31 frames on my nikon and 12 images with my iphone.

November 22, 2012 | 1:05pm: Edward and Maria waiting for the bus on Rosewood and Leona. They going to visit family in south Austin.

November 22, 2012 | 1:05pm: Edward and Maria waiting for the bus on Rosewood and Leona. They going to visit family in south Austin.

iphone

iphone

instagram with filter

instagram with filter

1:12pm : Junior Shaw, sitting on the corner of Oakgrove and E.12th Street

1:12pm : Junior Shaw, sitting on the corner of Oakgrove and E.12th Street

iphone

iphone

instagram with filter

instagram with filter

digital images shot during Thanksgiving bike ride

digital images shot on Thanksgiving Day

analog images shot during Thanksgiving bike ride

analog images shot during Thanksgiving bike ride

thanksstarcrane

November 22, 2012 | 12:53pm
11 Street and I35 archway. The gateway to east Austin.

Open house event and Austin Seen, in progress exhibit opening at Falcon 5 Studio and Community Gallery early 2013.

Subscribe to the mailing list to be updated and be sure to “like” Falcon 5 on Facebook to be in the know for pop-up events and parties!

About Jo Ann Santangelo

Austin based freelance multimedia documentary photographer and storyteller.
This entry was posted in austin, daily life, phone images, portraits, street and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

