I take a lot of pictures of…

myself….

on almost every roll I shoot, there is usually a reflected picture or two of myself. Am I vain? I don’t think so. I can usually walk by a mirror without stopping to look at myself…unless I have my camera over my shoulder.

selfwithiso

This image was shot on March 21, 2012, somewhere within walking distance of my house | East Austin

self_wjanie_02

August 08, 2012 | 3rd Street and Perdenales | self portrait with Janie in front of her mom’s house, where she was raised. Her mom has lived there since 1951.

tvself_827.12

August 27, 2012 | Abandoned TV, in a parking lot on Bolm Rd. | East Austin

These images are part of my current photo essay:  Austin Seen, in progress… exhibit opening at Falcon 5, a contained artspace coming March 2013.

Subscribe to mailing list for news and official announcements

To see older self portrait images check out reflections : a camera shy photographer

About Jo Ann Santangelo

Austin based freelance multimedia documentary photographer and storyteller.
This entry was posted in austin, daily life, portraits, street and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I take a lot of pictures of…

  1. sarah says:

    I don’t see anything wrong with self portraits like the first one you have there. I know many photographers that do that all the time! I do like that one because the composition is interesting. It looks like a photo within a photo!

Leave a Reply

