ATX Swappers: a community food swapping event

On January 31st I had the pleasure to attend, photograph and record audio at the 2nd ATX Swappers ( Kate Payne Megan Myers) event, held at the home of Sarah & Steve in East Austin. Take a journey in food, images and sound.
To find out how to start a swap in your area, visit The Hip Girl’s Guide to Homemaking blog, where Kate is happy to answer any questions you have.

http://www.vimeo.com/19809654

About Jo Ann Santangelo

Austin based freelance multimedia documentary photographer and storyteller.
This entry was posted in austin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ATX Swappers: a community food swapping event

  1. Heather says:

    What great video. I love the way you overlaid the sound with the images. I’m signed up for my first event soon. This makes me even more excited for it!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention ATX Swappers: a community food swapping event « Things that make me click… -- Topsy.com

  3. Nichole McDonald says:

    I love this idea! I haven’t heard of it before…which saddens me especially since I grew up in a poor farming area. But, I suppose that must have gone on b/c I remember fresh jellys and pickles….I guess I just didn’t realize what was going on….I’d like to plan my own event can you give me ideas on how to do this? Do I also explain about the presentation and the quality of the food? Mine will have to include little kids since my group will be of mommy’s so, I guess I’ll have to video and let you know how that aspect comes into play.

  4. Hi Nichole, for all the information you might need about starting your own swap please visit: http://hipgirlshome.com/foodswaps/

    Kate can answer any questions that you have after reading the how-to info!

Leave a comment